National Youth Service Programme

National Youth Science Programme

Unemployed Science, Engineering and Technology Graduates Required to Volunteer in the DST’s National Youth Service Programme.

The South African Agency for Science a Technology Advancement (SAASTA, a business unit of National Research Foundation) on behalf of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) is inviting unemployed science, engineering and technology graduates (18 to 35 years of age) to volunteer their services towards the implementation of the Youth into Science Strategy under the auspices of the National Youth Service Programme.  Volunteers will be deployed for a period of up to 12 months to participating organisations that collaborate with the DST in its youth development programmes.  A stipend will be paid to volunteers per month as follows: National Diploma NQF Level 6 (R 4 500), Bachelor’s Degree / B.Tech NQF Level 7 (R 5 000), Honours NQF Level 8 (R 5 500), Master’s NQF Level 9 (R 6 500), PhD NQF Level 10 (R 7 700).

Vacancies exist and become available during the year at a variety of organisations in all nine provinces.

Interested youth, who meet the qualifications, are invited to submit a covering letter indicating why they want to volunteer, in which province they are residing and the province of their choice. Candidates should also include curriculum vitae, certified copies of ID and qualifications, and all their contact details. 

Please email your detailed CV to

Human Resource Volunteer Department

South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA)

1st Floor Didacta Building

211 Nana Sita Street




 All enquiries:  MacDonald Kapu Tel: (012) 392 9300

Participating Host Institutions

Department of Education (DoE), Mthatha

Fort Hare School of Science & Technology Discovery (FOSST), Alice: Ft Hare

Mathematics Science & Technology Education (MSTE), King Williams Town at Zwelitsha

Nelson Mandela Bay Science & Technology Centre, Port Elizabeth

Sci-Fest, Grahamstown

Sasol Inzalo Foundation,Comfimvaba

Mothibistad Science Centre

Siseko Group (MST Skills Development)

Maths Science Leadership Academy (MSLA)

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)

Ikaheng High School

Agricultural Research Council (ARC), Bethlehem

Lenyora La Thuto Secondary School, Botshabelo – Bloemfontein


Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAF), Pretoria

Agricultural Research Council (ARC), Pretoria

Arcellor Mittal Science Centre, Sebokeng


Council for Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), Pretoria

CV Chabane and Associates, Pretoria

HartRAO, Krugersdorp

JNF Walter Sisulu Environmental Centre, Pretoria

Sasol Inzalo Foundation,Johannesburg

Johannesburg City Parks, Johannesburg

Mintek, Randburg

Moipone Academy, Tembisa

National Research Foundation ,Pretoria

Mondi Group, Johannesburg

National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF), Pretoria

National Zoological Garden (NZG), Pretoria

The South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (NECSA), Pretoria


Thandela Consulting, Pretoria

Tshwane University of Technology (Robotics), Pretoria

Reuben Dlamini Foundation, Johannesburg

South African Agency for Science & Technology Advancement (SAASTA), Johannesburg and Pretoria

South African Mathematics Foundation (SAMF), Pretoria

South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI), Johannesburg

Sci-Bono Discovery Centre, Johannesburg

Sci-Enza Science Centre, Pretoria

Square Kilometre Array (SKA), Johannesburg


Underdeveloped Graduate into Science, Pretoria

University of Johannesburg

Science Centre,Soweto

Walter Sisulu Environmental Centre, Johannesburg

Arcellor Mittal Science Centre, Newcastle

Isibusiso Esihle Science Centre, Kwangwanase

Jive Media Africa, Pietermaritzburg

KZN Science Centre, Umhlanga Rocks

Mondi Group, Pietermaritzburg

Mary Help Primary School, Ixopo

Nkomose Comprehensive High School, Ixopo

South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI), Pietermaritzburg

University of KwaZulu-Natal Science Centre, Durban

University of Zululand Science Centre, Richards Bay

Moses Kotane Institution

Bokamoso Science & Technology Centre (Bostec), Bochum

Giyane Science Centre, Giyane

National Zoological Gardens, Mokopane

Vuwani Science Centre, Thoyandou: Venda

University of Limpopo Science Centre, Turfloop: Polokwane

Phalaborwa Foundation,Phalaborwa

Anglo SCG & ICT Resource Centre, Witbank/Emalahleni

Mondi Science Centre, Piet Retief

Osizweni Education & Development Centre Secunda, Embalenhle

Mondi Group,Piet Retief

MSTA Academy Main Hub

North West University Science Centre, Potchefstroom

North West University Science Centre, Mafikeng

Maths & Science Learning Academy (MSLA), Kimberley

Mothibistad Science Centre, Mothibistad

SA Astronomy Observatory,Sutherland

Arcellor Mittal Science Centre, Saldanha/Vredenburg

Cape Town Science Centre, Cape Town

iThemba Labs, Somerset West

South African Astronomical Observatory (SAAO), Cape Town

Science Learning Centre for Africa – UWC, Cape Town

South African National Space Agency (SANSA), Hermanus: Cape Town

Square Kilometre Array,Cape Town

Stellenbosch University Botanical Gardens

For Enquiries

MacDonald Kapu

+27 (0)12 392 9300