National Science Week (NSW), an initiative of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) is a countrywide celebration of science involving various stakeholders and/or role players conducting science-based activities during the week.

National Science Week is run in all nine provinces simultaneously at multiple sites per province. SAASTA has been appointed by the DST as the implementing agency and play the role of the National Project Manager for the National Science Week.

The NSW 2017 national launch event will be hosted by Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) Missionvale campus on Saturday, 5 August.Each year a different theme is chosen and activities are offered around the theme to the target audiences. The theme for 2017 is “Advancing Science Tourism ”.

Successful bidders for hosting activities during the week will be announced soon.

Service Providers

Please click on the flag in your province to see which activities you can attend and which service provider is offering them.

Related Pages


Bafedile Kgwadi
Call +27 (0)11 551 5947 (Observatory)
Call +27 (0)12 392 9368 (SAASTA)